There are two types of programs available to students at Tarneit Senior College:

Within each of these programs students have the opportunity to participate in a Vocational Education and Training (VET) course of their choice.

Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE)

Participation in a VCE program provides students with the opportunity of completing a senior school certificate by selecting from a range of studies including VET. Students are able to focus on studies that will provide a pathway to University, TAFE or employment.

Summary of VCE Requirements:

Your VCE program will normally be made up of 20 units completed over two years. Students usually complete 10 per year.

  • 10 Units (5 subjects) of Units 1 & 2 in Year 11 before proceeding to 10 Units (5 subjects) of Units 3 & 4 in Year 12.

It is possible for Year 11 students who have demonstrated ability to select a Unit 3 & 4 study in their first year. Please complete the following form.

To be awarded the VCE Certificate students must satisfactorily complete at least 16 units, including:

  • at least three units of English (must include Unit 3&4)
  • at least three Unit 3 & 4 studies other than English

Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority (VCAA)

All VCE requirements at Tarneit Senior College are set by VCAA.

The Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority (VCAA) is an independent statutory body responsible to the Victorian Minister for Education. We serve both government and non-government schools.

The mission of the VCAA is to provide high quality curriculum, assessment and reporting to enable learning for life.

Information regarding VCE and VCAA can be found on their website.